Bayerisches Staatsministerium der Justiz

Justiz ist für die Menschen da - Recht Sicherheit Vertrauen

Welcome to the Bavarian State Ministry of Justice

The Bavarian State Ministry of Justice is the supreme authority for some 14,000 judges, public prosecutors, judicial officers, probation and court officers, first and second level civil servants, employees and for about 4,500 civil servants and employees in law enforcement.

The ministry is responsible not only for the staffing and facilities of the courts, departments of public prosecution and law enforcement institutions in Bavaria. In particular its other responsibilities include the Bavarian judiciary’s budgetary and building matters, questions of principle regarding organisation, the modernisation of the judiciary, advocacy law, the system of notary’s offices, law enforcement, the training and further training of public servants and the Administrative Office of the State Courts – Examination Division. The ministry also contributes to the legislation of the Federal Government and of the Free State of Bavaria, primarily in the fields of civil law, criminal law and procedural law.

According to the constitution of the Free State of Bavaria, the person responsible for running the ministry is the Minister of State for Justice. Since 10 October 2013 that has been Prof. Dr. Winfried Bausback. He is a member of the national government with a seat and vote in the cabinet.

Minister Bausback

Prof. Dr. Winfried Bausback´s c.v.

Personal Information

  • Born in Aschaffenburg, Germany, on October 22, 1965
  • Married, three children
  • Roman-Catholic

Education and Carreer Path

  • 1985: International Baccalaureate, Kronberg-Gymnasium, Aschaffenburg, Germany, followed by basic mandatory military service in Kassel and Wolfhagen, Germany
  • Starting in October 1986: Studied law at Julius Maximilian University of Würzburg, Germany, occasionally studied history and philosophy concurrently; Konrad Adenauer Scholar
  • 1992: First state law examination in Würzburg
  • Starting in April 1992: Legal internships in Aschaffenburg, Würzburg and Frankfurt, Germany
  • 1995: Second state law examination
  • Starting in February 1995: Research Assistant and then Assistant and Senior Assistant to the Chair for International Law, General Governmental Theory, Bavarian and German Constitutional Law as well as Political Science of Julius Maximilian University of Würzburg
  • 1997: Doctorate at Julius Maximilian University of Würzburg; Bavarian Post-Doctoral Award recipient
  • 2002: Post-Doctorate at Julius Maximilian University of Würzburg; obtained teaching credentials for public, European and international law; followed by substitute professorships at Friedrich Alexander University of Erlangen-Nuremberg and the University of Bayreuth as well as lecturer posts at the Catholic University of Eichstätt-Ingolstadt
  • Since April 2008: Professor at the University of Wuppertal; Public Law Chair, specializing in European and International Commercial Law (professorship suspended since the beginning of State Parliament membership)

Political Career & Party Offices

  • 1984: Joined the Young Christian Democrats
  • 1985: Joined the Christian Social Union

Holder of various offices since then; at present:

  • Aschaffenburg City District Chairman of the Christian Social Union (since 2009)
  • Member of the Executive Committee of the Christian Social Union (since 2008)
  • District Chairman of the Christian Social Union’s Lawyers Task Force in Lower Franconia
  • Deputy District Chairman of the Christian Social Union’s University Task Force in Lower Franconia (since 2009)

Political Offices

  • Since 2002: Aschaffenburg City Councilor; Deputy Chairman of the Christian Social Union’s City Council Parliamentary Group (since 2005)
  • Since October 20, 2008: Member of the State Parliament; in the 16th  legislative period (2008 to 2013) inter alia Member of the
    • Constitutional, Legal, Parliamentary Issues and Consumer Protection Committee
    • Civil Service Issues Committee
    • BayernLB/HGAA Investigation Panel
    • Bavaria – NSU Right-Wing Terrorism Investigation Panel
  • Since October 10, 2013: Bavarian State Minister of Justice

Honorary Activities

  • Since 2002: Member of the Advisory Board of the Aschaffenburg Cultural Award Foundation
  • Since 2008: Deputy Member of the Aschaffenburg Specialized Secondary School/Vocational Secondary School Association

For an extended period of time to date, Deputy Chairman of the St.
Conrad Kindergarten Support Association in Aschaffenburg.

The Senior Official of the Bavarian State Ministry of Justice is Ministerial Director Prof. Dr. Frank Arloth. The ministry currently has about 205 staff, roughly 80 of them fourth level civil servants. The ministry is divided into seven departments and the Administrative Office of the State Courts – Examination Division.

The ministry’s departments and their areas of responsibility

  • Department  A
    Staff matters, staff budget, notarial matters, the law of the legal professions
  • Department B
    Budget and construction, organisation, IT, business statistics
  • Department  C
    Matters of principle, European law and public law
  • Department D
    Civil law and consumer law
  • Department E
    Criminal law and internet crime
  • Department F
    Law enforcement
  • Department G
    Training, further training and examination law
The administrative Office of the State Courts – Examination Division 

The Administrative Office of the State Courts – Examination Division is responsible for preparing and conducting the First and Second State Examination in Law, the Judicial Officer Examination, the Bailiff Examination, the Principal Court Clerk Examination and the examination for the various careers of the law enforcement service.

Justice and law enforcement in Bavaria

The Bavarian State Ministry of Justice portfolio encompasses the courts of the ordinary court system, i.e. the civil and criminal courts. In Bavaria that is the higher regional courts of Munich, Nuremberg and Bamberg, 22 regional courts and 73 district courts with 7 agencies.

In Bavaria, the specialised court system (administrative, industrial, social and financial courts) belongs to the portfolio of the respective government ministries, not to the law department.

The departments of public prosecution are obliged to prosecute criminal acts and – unless other authorities are preferentially appointed to do so – also administrative offences.

In Bavaria there are general departments of public prosecution in Munich, Nuremberg and Bamberg, and departments of public prosecution at each of the regional courts (with five public prosecution agencies).

In addition the Bavarian State Ministry of Justice is in charge of the entire Bavarian law enforcement system. Altogether Bavaria has 36 prisons and 6 youth juvenile detention institutions. The Bavarian Law Enforcement School in Straubing is responsible for the training and further training of law enforcement officials.

The Bavarian State Ministry of Justice also works closely with consumer organisations, which it promotes. Verbraucherzentrale Bayern and VerbraucherServiceBayern are contacts on the spot everywhere in Bavaria. Besides giving individuals advice they organise lectures, practical demonstrations and a lot more.

Contact details

Bayerisches Staatsministerium der Justiz
Justizpalast am Karlsplatz
Prielmayerstraße 7
80335 München (Hausanschrift) oder
80097 München (Postanschrift)
Te.: (089)5597-01
Pressestelle des Bayerischen Staatsministeriums der Justiz
Prielmayerstraße 7
80335 München
Postanschrift: 80097 München
Tel.: (089)5597-3111
Fax.: (089)5597-2332